Information and Referral/Family Life Education
1191 Menoher Drive
Andrews AFB, MD 20762-6421
Phone (DSN) 312-858-7087
Fax (DSN) 312-858-9215
Registration and licensing requirements
State laws vary when it comes to motor vehicle insurance requirements, licensing and registration. The term vehicle generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Service members and their families will want to understand their state’s laws on registration and licensing before moving to a new state. Visit the USA.gov Motor Vehicle Services page for links to state-specific websites.
Motor vehicle laws
State and local laws regulate the operation of motor vehicles, and these laws can vary by location. Many states regulate the following:
Learn more about motor vehicle laws in your state at the Distraction.gov State Laws page.
Installation Specific Information
Registration & Licensing Requirements
Maryland State law requires you to have sufficient liability insurance and a valid driver’s license in order to operate a vehicle. The term “vehicle” generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Further, your vehicle must be properly registered. Even though you are in the Military, you may be required to register your vehicle in-state and obtain an in-state license within a few months of moving. Access complete information on insurance, driver’s licensing, and where and how to register your vehicle by visiting the State Department of Motor Vehicles website. For safety laws in Maryland, visit the State Highway Administration website.
You and your passengers must always wear seatbelts while driving, you will be ticketed and issued heavy fines if seatbelts are not secured. State law requires that all children under 6 years of age (regardless of weight) or under 40 pounds (regardless of age) be properly restrained in child seats. Some states also require younger, smaller children to sit in the back seat.
Motorcycles and their operators are subject to special laws. If you own and operate a motorcycle, you must comply with those laws. Visit the State Department of Motor Vehicles website for more information.
Turn your headlights on when visibility is poor and use wipers and headlights in inclement weather. Maryland law now requires headlights to be used whenever windshield wipers are used continuously because of visibility conditions.
The Maryland State Police has an active aggressive driver campaign, which primarily focuses enforcement on those drivers who exceed the speed limit, follow too closely, pass improperly, weave, fail to yield the right-of-way, run red lights and disregard other traffic signals and signs.
Distracted Driving -- Maryland and local jurisdictions have strict laws about the use of cell phones and other digital devices while driving. Distracted driving is defined as texting, talking, emailing or using a cellphone while operating a motor vehicle without the use of a hands-free device. Effective October 1, 2013, Maryland's cell phone law prohibits a driver from using a handheld cell phone while a motor vehicle is in motion. This is a primary offense. Law enforcement officers can stop a driver solely for using a handheld cell phone while driving - no other offense is needed.
Drivers will receive a fine (including court costs) of up to:
$83 - first offense
$140 - second offense
$160 - third & subsequent offense
Play it safe and always use a "hands free" device if you must use a cell phone or other PDA while driving. Hands-free devices must be used while operating a motor vehicle on ALL military installations worldwide.
JB Andrews has a strict policy regarding the use of hands-free devices while driving on the installation. If a person operating a vehicle on base is pulled over for distracted driving, the 11th Security Forces Squadron will issue a citation suspending their base driving privileges. There will be a 30-day suspension for the first offense and a 90-day suspension for a subsequent offense. In accordance with standard procedures, individuals may request a hearing to allow restricted driving privileges or remove the suspension. Questions regarding the JB Andrews Distracted Driver program can be answered with a Q&A posted on the installation website found here and here.
As a general rule, military installations adopt the traffic rules and laws of the host country or state. In most instances, JB Andrews regulations mirror the State of Maryland traffic code.
Child Restraints -- All children must use restraint devices while riding as a passenger. Base law mirrors Maryland law. Maryland's current law (effective June 30, 2008) requires that children under eight years old to ride in an appropriate child restraint, *unless the child is 4'9" or taller or weighs more than 65 pounds. *Child restraint includes car seats and booster seats and other federally approved safety devices. Every child from 8 to 16 years old who is not secured in a child restraint must be secured in the vehicle's seat belt. This law is applicable to in-state and out-of-state vehicles. It is the driver's responsibility for making sure all children are correctly buckled up. It is illegal to leave children under 10 alone in a vehicle, even briefly. If left alone, they must be watched by someone 13 or older.
The District of Columbia has recently passed new ordinances that affect anyone driving in or through the District of Columbia. The first is any child 8 years old or younger must be secured in a car seat.
Helmets -- Motorcycle operators and passengers are required to wear U.S. DOT approved helmets. Operators must wear eye protection as well. Also, the use of bicycle safety helmets is mandatory for any operator, regardless of age, of a bicycle while on JB Andrews property.
Hands-free devices -- The use of hand-held communication devices while operating a motor vehicle (use with hands-free accessories is permitted). Even if you may only be passing through the District, the new ordinances apply. Stiff fines can result for non-compliance.
Speed Limits -- The speed limit is 25 mph unless otherwise posted and is strictly enforced by police patrols equipped with radar.
Seat Belts -- Seat belts are required at all times while driving on base.
Parking -- Parking of motor vehicles is authorized only in areas/spaces designated. If a vehicle operator (military or civilian) is stopped by Security Police for a traffic violation or routine identification check, full cooperation with the patrol officer or gate guard is required.
Pedestrians -- Pedestrians in crosswalks have the right of way, however, they should not step into crosswalks in the path of approaching vehicles when such action would require emergency braking. Pedestrians must consider surface road conditions prior to entering crosswalks. Bicycle helmets are mandatory safety gear to be worn by anyone, regardless of age, riding a bicycle on JB Andrews property.
Vehicle Checks -- Normally (current world events not withstanding) vehicle checks are conducted randomly at the gates. These are visual checks, not searches. If the vehicle operator does not allow security police to inspect the vehicle, entry to the base may be denied.
Accidents -- All Motor vehicle accidents must be reported immediately to the Security Police Desk Sergeant, located in Building 1845, (301) 981-2001 (858-2001 from office phones).
Criminal Offenses -- If a vehicle operator is taken into custody for any criminal offense, such as: drug/firearms violations, disorderly conduct, nuisance, larceny, vandalism, DWI/reckless driving, etc..., an appearance before the U.S. Magistrate Court, if civilian; a military Commander, if military, may be required.
Crime Stop -- The Security Police have a crime reporting phone which can be used in the event a crime or suspicious act is observed. It is 301-981-2677 (calling from off base); or 2-2677 if calling from on-base. The caller does not have to identify him/herself.
Restricted Areas -- Because JB Andrews is the home of Air Force One and many DV movements per week, security assumes a higher priority when the President and/or distinguished visitors enter or leave the base. Normally, this does not inconvenience residents and employees for more than a few minutes. Passengers and others in the air terminal may be restricted during the last 15-20 minutes before an entourage enters or leaves the aircraft boarding area.
Call your relocation manager »
Or, for 24/7 assistance, call Military OneSource. »